Photo Credit: Brett Hall Jones

Michelle Latiolais

Michelle Latiolais is Professor of English at the University of California at Irvine. She is the author of the novel Even Now, which received the Gold Medal for Fiction from the Commonwealth Club of California. Bellevue Literary Press published her second novel, A Proper Knowledge, in 2008. Widow, a collection of stories, involutions, and essays, was released in January 2011 from Bellevue Literary Press. She has published writing in three anthologies, Absolute Disaster, Women On The Edge: Writing From Los Angeles and Woof! Writers on Dogs. Her stories and essays have appeared in ZYZZVYA, The Antioch Review, Western Humanities Review, Santa Monica Review, The Kenyon Review, Iowa Review and the Northwest Review. He most recent book, She, was released in 2016 by W.W. Norton & Company.  [F/NF]

Photo credit: Brett Hall Jones


Michael Lavigne

Michael Lavigne is author of three novels, Not Me (Random House), The Wanting (Schocken/Pantheon) and, under the pen name Pepper Harding, The Heart of Henry Quantum (Gallery/Simon and Schuster). His work has been translated into seven languages. He is a Sami Rohr Fellow. Before becoming a novelist, Michael was an advertising writer and creative director at places like Leo Burnett, Ogilvy and Mather, and his own agency. He also directed television commercials. Educated at University of Tennessee, Millersville University, and the University of Chicago, Michael is married, has two grown sons and lives in Glen Ellen, CA. He attended the Community of Writers in 2001.

Photo Credit: Timothy Archibald

Frances Stroh

Frances Stroh was born in Detroit and raised in Grosse Pointe, Michigan. She received her B.A. from Duke University and her M.A. from Chelsea College of Art in London as a Fulbright Scholar. She practiced as an installation artist, exhibiting in Los Angeles, San Francisco, and London before turning to writing. She is the award-winning author of Beer Money: A Memoir of Privilege and Loss (HarperCollins), which chronicles her coming of age as an artist in the midst of the Stroh’s Beer family’s decline coupled with the unraveling of Detroit. She has published in The Common, Literary Hub, and the Detroit Metro Times, among others. Frances is a member of the San Francisco Writers’ Grotto and the curator of the Stranger Than Fiction reading series.


Amy Tan

Amy Tan, born in the U.S. to immigrant parents from China, rejected her mother’s expectations that she become a doctor and concert pianist. She chose to write fiction instead. Her novels are The Joy Luck Club, The Kitchen God’s Wife, The Hundred Secret Senses, The Bonesetter’s Daughter, Saving Fish from Drowning, and Valley of Amazement, all New York Times bestsellers. She is also the author of a memoir, The Opposite of Fate; two children’s books, The Moon Lady and Sagwa, The Chinese Siamese Cat; and numerous articles for magazines. She served as co-producer and co-screenwriter for the film adaptation of The Joy Luck Club and was the creative consultant for Sagwa, the Emmy-nominated PBS television series for children. She wrote the libretto for the opera based on her novel The Bonesetter’s Daughter. With music composed by Stewart Wallace, the opera had its world premiere in 2008 at the San Francisco Opera. Her most recent book, a memoir, is Where the Past Begins.

Photo credit: Julia Johnson Photo