Francisco Aragón

Francisco Aragón is the author of Puerta del Sol (Bilingual Press) and Glow of Our Sweat (Scapegoat Press) as well as editor of, The Wind Shifts: New Latino Poetry (University of Arizona Press), these latter two titles winners of International Latino Book Awards, respectively. His poems and translations from the Spanish have appeared in various print and web publications, as well as numerous anthologies. In 2003 he joined the faculty of the Institute for Latino Studies (ILS) at the University of Notre Dame, where he established Letras Latinas—the ILS’ literary initiative. In 2010 he was awarded the Outstanding Latino/a Cultural Arts, Literary Arts and Publications Award by the American Association of Hispanics in Higher Education. In 2015 he received a VIDO Award by VIDA: Women in the Literary Arts. A native of San Francisco and resident of Arlington, Virginia, he divides his year between the Notre Dame campus in Indiana and the ILS office in Washington, D.C.

Photo credit: Mike Cook

Forrest Gander

Forrest Gander, a writer and translator with degrees in geology and English literature, was born in the Mojave Desert and grew up in Virginia. Among his most recent books are the novel The Trace, the poem book Eiko & Koma, and two anthologies: Panic Cure: Poetry from Spain for the 21st Century and Pinholes in the Night: Essential Poems from Latin America. Gander’s book Core Samples from the World was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award. Gander’s most recent translations are Then Come Back: the Lost Neruda Poems and Alice Iris Red Horse: Selected Poems of Yoshimasu Gozo. He is the husband of the late poet CD Wright.

Robert Hass

Robert Hass is a poet, translator and essayist. Ecco/HarperCollins recently published his book of prose, What Light Can Do: Essays 1985-2010. His other recent books include his selected poems, The Apple Trees at Olema (Ecco/HarperCollins), Time and Materials (Ecco/ HarperCollins), which was awarded the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award, and his edition of Walt Whitman’s Song of Myself and Other Poems (Counterpoint). His other books of poetry include Sun Under Wood: New Poems, Human Wishes, Praise, and Field Guide. He has also co-translated many volumes of the poetry of Czeslaw Milosz and is the author or editor of several other collections of essays and translations, including The Essential Haiku: Versions of Basho, Buson, and Issa; Twentieth Century Pleasures: Prose on Poetry; and Now & Then: The Poet’s Choice Columns 1996-2000. In 2017 HarperCollins published his most recent book of essays, A Little Book on Form: An Exploration Into the Formal Imagination of Poetry. He served as Poet Laureate of the United States from 1995 to 1997. Awarded a MacArthur Fellowship and the National Book Critics Circle Award twice, he is a professor of English at UC Berkeley and directs the Poetry Program of the Community of Writers at Squaw Valley.

Photo Credit © Miriam Berkley

Brenda Hillman

Brenda Hillman is the author of nine collections of poetry, all published by Wesleyan University Press, the most recent of which are Pieces of Air in the Epic, Practical Water and Seasonal Works With Letters on Fire, which received the Griffin International Poetry Prize in 2014 for the best book of poetry published in English the previous year.  Hillman has also published three chapbooks: Coffee Three A.M, Autumn Sojourn, and The Firecage; edited an edition of Emily Dickinson’s poetry for Shambhala Publications; and with Patricia Dienstfrey, co-edited The Grand Permission: New Writings on Poetics and Motherhood. With Garrett Caples and Paul Ebenkamp, she edited Richard O. Moore’s Particulars of Place (Omnidawn). Named by Poets and Writers magazine as one of “Fifty Inspiring Writers,” she was awarded the Academy of American Poets Fellowship for 2012 for Distinguished Poetic Achievement. Hillman participates in nonviolent activism and teaches at St. Mary’s College in Moraga, California where she is the Olivia Filippi Professor of Poetry.

Photo credit: University of Arizona Poetry Center

Sharon Olds

Sharon Olds is the author of eleven books of poetry. The Dead and the Living received the National Book Critics Circle Award; The Unswept Room was a finalist for the National Book Award and the National Book Critics Circle Award, and One Secret Thing was a finalist for the Forward Prize and the T.S. Eliot Prize. She teaches at New York University’s Graduate Program in Creative Writing, where she has been involved with New York University’s outreach workshops. The Goldwater Hospital Writing Workshop is in its 30th year, which includes a workshop for veterans of the Iraq and Afghanistan wars. Her collection of poetry, Stag’s Leap, published by Knopf in the US and Jonathan Cape in the UK, won the 2012 T.S.Eliot Prize and the 2013 Pulitzer Prize. In 2015 she was elected a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters. In 2016 The Academy of American Poets awarded her the Wallace Stevens Award. Her most recent collection, Odes, was published by Knopf in 2016.

Photo Credit: Brett Hall Jones

Gregory Pardlo

Gregory Pardlo‘s collection Digest (Four Way Books) won the 2015 Pulitzer Prize for Poetry. Digest was also shortlisted for the 2015 NAACP Image Award and was a finalist for the Hurston-Wright Legacy Award. His other honors include fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the New York Foundation for the Arts; his first collection Totem was selected by Brenda Hillman for the APR/Honickman Prize in 2007. He is also the author of Air Traffic, a memoir in essays forthcoming from Knopf. Pardlo joins the faculty of the M.F.A. program in creative writing at Rutgers University-Camden in the fall of 2016. He lives with his family in Brooklyn.

Photo credit: Rachel Eliza Griffiths