Sharon Olds

Poetry Workshop teaching staff

She is the recipient of the 2022 Frost Medal for distinguished lifetime achievement in poetry, and will be honored at a benefit put on by the Poetry Society of America on May 12. Named for Robert Frost, and first given in 1930, the Frost Medal is one of the oldest and most prestigious awards in American poetry and is awarded annually at the discretion of the PSA’s Board of Governors. Previous winners of the award include Wallace Stevens, Marianne Moore, Gwendolyn Brooks, Allen Ginsberg, Adrienne Rich, John Ashbery, Lucille Clifton, and most recently, N. Scott Momaday.

Emily Perez

Poetry Participant, '10, '18

Her second full-length book of poetry, What Flies Want, was chosen by judge Brenda Shaughnessy as the winner of the Iowa Prize. Poet Wayne Miller calls it “a broad and ambitious book well-tuned to the concerns of the present moment as it attends in smart and nuanced layers to sexual violence, constructions of gender, the complexities of race, the disappointments and redemptions of marriage, and the entwined hopes and fears of raising boys in a world where ‘every man’s a ticking bomb.’” The book is available for pre-order on Amazon and the University of Iowa website, and it will be available in May, 2022.

Dan Alter

Poetry Workshop participant '11, '14, '18

His newest collection of poetry, My Little Book of Exiles, was recently published by Maida Vale.

Ellen Bravo

Writers Workshops Participant, '99, '00, '01

She has a new novel out, Standing Up: Tales of Struggle, written with her husband Larry Miller. Inspired by five decades of organizing, Standing Up is about those who clean bloody hospital sheets, forge parts for sewer pipes, arrange flights, or process checks — all while caring for kids, holding relationships together and wrestling with multiple forms of oppression. As the characters stand up, slow down, form unions, leave an abusive relationship or just stir up good trouble, they entertain and enlighten and encourage us to love deeply, as we continue the fight for justice. Best-selling author Jacquelyn Mitchard calls it “Shocking, terrifying, inspiring and deeply felt lives of the unsung.”

Patricia Spears Jones

Poetry Workshop participant '91, '92, '94; Poetry Workshop teaching staff '16

She is being honored at The Poetry Project Gala in New York City on April 8. More details can be found here:

Erica Plouffe Lazure

Writers Workshop participant '18

Her short story collection, Proof of Me and Other Stories, is now available for pre-order at Barnes & It will be released by New American Press in Philadelphia on March 24, 2022 during AWP. To preorder: