Jenn Alandy Trahan

Writers Workshop Participant, '08, '17

Her short story, “They Told Us Not to Say This,” published in Harper’s Magazine in September 2018, was selected for The Best American Short Stories 2019.

Attended with the help of Carlisle Family Scholarship

Colette Sartor

Writers Workshop participant '00

Her collection of short stories, Once Removed, will be published in September, 2019, by University of Georgia Press. It recently received the Flannery O’Connor Award for Short Fiction.

Mark Coggins

Writers Workshops Participant, '96; Screenwriting Program Participant, '01

His newest, The Dead Beat Scroll, the seventh novel in the August Riordan crime fiction series, was recently released from Down & Out Books.

Caitlin McCarthy

Screenwriting Workshop '13

Her screenplay Wonder Drug has advanced into the Semifinal Round of the 2019 Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting, one of only 149 entries to advance from the Quarterfinal Round. During the Semifinals, four Academy members, drawn from a variety of branches, will read Wonder Drug. From 10 to 15 Semifinalists will be selected as Finalists. All Semifinalists will be included in the Nicholl contact list that is forwarded in the fall to agents, development executives, managers, and producers who request it.

Charles Halsted

Poetry Participant, '18

His first full length book, Extenuating Circumstances, which contains three of the six poems written at the Squaw Valley Community of Writers, is due for publication on October 4, 2019. A second full length book is in preparation.

Meg Waite Clayton

Writers Workshop Participant, ‘00

Her newest book, The Last Train to London, a novel based on the true story of the Vienna Kindertransports and the extraordinary woman who led the rescues, will be published by HarperCollins and HarperCollins-Canada September 10, and in translation in fifteen languages.

Jeffrey Thomas Leong

Poetry Participant, '97, '00, '02

His recent book, Wild Geese Sorrow: The Chinese Wall Inscriptions at Angel Island, was awarded the 2019 Northern California Book Award for translation in poetry.

Maurya Simon

Writers Workshop Participant '84

Her 10th volume of poetry, The Wilderness: New and Selected Poems, was published in 2018, and was recently awarded a gold medal from the Benjamin Franklin Independent Book Awards. Her recent work has appeared in the The Georgia Review and The Gettysburg Review.

Caitlin McCarthy

Screenwriting Workshop participant '13

Her scientific drama Wonder Drug advanced to the quarterfinals in the prestigious 2019 Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting competition, one of only 365 entries to emerge from the First Round (out of 7,302 scripts entered). Wonder Drug, a Sloan script at the Hamptons Screenwriters Lab, was also a Bitch List honoree and “Featured Script” on the Black List website. In more Nicholl news, Caitlin’s thriller A Native Land placed among the Top 10% of all entries in this year’s competition. Semifinalists will be announced in August.

Claire Boyles

Writers Workshop Participant, '18

Her essay, “Riding Ditch”, was recently published in the Summer 2019 issue of Virginia Quarterly Review. Her short story, “Lost Gun, $1000 Reward, No Questions”, won Boulevard’s Short Fiction Contest for Emerging Writers and will appear in the Fall 2019 issue.

Lisa Rappoport

Writers Workshop participant '94, Poetry Workshop participant '00

Her new book of poetry, Penumbra, was recently published by Longship Press.

Dedria Humphries Barker

Writers Workshop participant ‘08, 15

She featured in a July 2019 Facebook Live event “Poets in Pajamas,” sponsored by Sundress Publications.

Marcelo Hernandez Castillo

Poetry Workshop participant '11

His memoir, Children of the Land, will be released in January, 2020 from HarperCollins.

Lester Graves Lennon

Poetry Workshop participant '99, '01, '03, '05, '07, '09, '11, '13, '15, '17, '19

He recently became the poetry editor for Rosebud Magazine.

Harryette Mullen

Poetry Workshop teaching staff '06, '14

A poem of hers was chosen for’s Poem-a-Day by Ruth Ellen Kocher and Francisco Marquez. It will be featured on August 2, 2019.